This year, for the first time, we’re announcing recipients of Carbon180’s Member of the Year award. These members of Congress have made exemplary efforts to develop and champion carbon removal policies, provide resources to communities, and build resiliency. These policies are pivotal for bringing carbon removal solutions to gigaton scale and creating a livable climate in which current and future generations can thrive.

Congratulations to our 2022 Carbon180 Member of the Year recipients:

Land-based carbon removal

  • Senator Smith (MN)
  • Congresswoman Pingree (ME-01)

Tech-based carbon removal

  • Senator Coons (DE)
  • Senator Whitehouse (RI)
  • Congressman Peters (CA-52)
  • Congressman Tonko (NY-20)

Earlier this year, we created the Carbon Removal Policy Tracker to keep up with Congressional support for carbon removal. The custom-built tool provides a one-stop shop for exploring and evaluating carbon removal legislation with summaries of carbon removal-related provisions across DAC, agriculture, forestry, blue carbon, oceans, BECCS, mineralization, and other emerging pathways.

As the 118th Congress is sworn in next year, we’re looking forward to working alongside our award recipients and other Congressional members to develop and pass policies that bring necessary carbon removal solutions to gigaton scale. Congratulations to our inaugural winners.

Edited by Dana Jacobs. Cover image by Kristian Løvstad,